Birthday run

This morning, I joined the 6 am group to run 8 miles of trails in Portola Valley (Razorback to Hamms Gulch).  After several switchbacks, I was quickly reminded of my aging body and the condition I’m in versus 10 years ago.  I am probably 15 seconds slower per mile.  But maybe this is just my mind messing with me, 20 minutes into the climb.  This group typically sprints on the hill, at least that’s what it felt like.  On the descent, my heels burned and had blisters forming on the balls of my feet.  Too bad I couldn’t take my phone with me to take some pics but the views were spectacular, as always.  I’m so lucky to live 5 miles from this runner’s paradise.  These pics are taken from another website, check out the trail:  http://www.weekendhike.com/2007/04/portola-valley-hamms-gulch-trail.html

View from Hamms Gulch Trail 102

Lookout off Hamms Trail

Leave a comment